An Introduction of Sorts… Or Why I’ll Never Get Anything Done Ever Again.

quotes__44_by_alpner-d5sd9rz

Hello out there blog dwellers and fellow cyber-spacians,

My name, should that sort of information interest you, is Sarah James, and I would like to kindly welcome you to my attempt to do anything other than that which I really should be doing. As I’m sure you’ll quickly grasp, I’m a student. A grad student, no less. As such, I live a life of crazy deadlines, imposing reading lists, annoying landlords, never-ending papers, mind-boggling undergrads, wine in boxes, stress, existential questions (read: Oh god, why?), amazing discoveries, frustrating bureaucracies, self-delusions of competence, suspected masochistic tendencies (Read: grad student), and crap television. There are a number of different things I should be doing at the moment, productive things, but I’m an art student. A Cultural Studies and Critical theory student actually, but that title’s a lot harder to poke easy fun at. Mostly cause no one really knows what Cultural Studies is, and really shouldn’t all theory be critical?

In my increasingly creative attempt to ignore that which some might term more productive work (read: homework, thesis proposals, reality), I’ve decided to take action and start the blog I always told myself I should write but never did. It’s funny how many things one gets done in the name of academic procrastination. In the posts to come you’ll find commentaries, arguments, musings, anecdotes and occasional rants on a number of different topics that will hopefully tickle your fancy the way they’ve tickled mine.

This is, ultimately, an experiment of sorts, into what one can do with a venue to create or produce content online. A chance for me to interact with the great digital soapbox that is the internet. I can’t tell you yet in which directions I’ll go or what I’ll do. But I can say that I intend to speak, first and foremost, about popular culture. Because that’s what I do, as a Cultural Theorist, I take a critical look and perspective into the stories we tell ourselves about ourselves. I get to write term papers on Jon Stewart, Glee, or even fanfiction, and call it academic. I somehow got a BA (with honors, no less) writing about this stuff. The kid in me is constantly fascinated with what I can get away with, because school is, you know, serious, apparently, and Dragon Ball Z is not. And yet it is, or it can be.

So we’ll wait and see what this becomes, a fascinating glimpse into popular culture, or a series of whiny posts about last minute deadlines I’ve probably brought upon myself. Either way, there is only one way to find out.

Allons-y!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

